The Intellectual Property Section of the Georgia Bar was founded in 1964 to provide information about intellectual property law to its members and to the community. Today the Section continues those goals and now boasts over 1000 members. The Section’s educational events, which are open to Section members as well as non-members, provide timely legal updates regarding copyright, patents, trademarks, and intellectual property licensing and litigation. The Section also provides newsletters, networking opportunities, and podcasts of educational materials. The Intellectual Property Section is considered one of the most active sections of the Georgia Bar. The State Bar has recognized the Intellectual Property Section as Section of the Year for 2012-2013, 2013-2014, and three other times in the past (2003; 2006, jointly with Family Law Section). The Section has also received three Achievement Awards (2002; 2004; and 2007).

Section By-laws

 

Section Officers 2015-2016

Lauren Fernandez — Chair
The Fernandez Company
lauren@thefern.co
Brent Bellows — Chair-Elect
Knowles Intellectual Property Strategies LLC
bbellows@kipsllc.com
Suzanne Werner — Vice Chair
The Coca-Cola Company
suwerner@coca-cola.com
Jim Johnson — Secretary
Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP
james.johnson@sutherland.com
Virginia Carron — Treasurer
Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP
virginia.carron@finnegan.com
Brad Groff – Past Chair
Gardner Groff Greenwald & Villanueva, PC
bgroff@gardnergroff.com
Derrick Stanley – Section Liaison
State Bar of Georgia
derricks@gabar.org

Section Committees 2015-2016

Matthew Smith – In-House Liaison
Innovolt, Inc.
matt.smith@innovolt.com
Katie Bates – Copyright, Chair
King & Spalding
kbates@kslaw.com
Pete Duitsman – Copyright, Vice Chair
Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.
peter.duitsman@turner.com
Chris Lightner – Patent, Chair
Alston & Bird
chris.lightner@alston.com
Chris Curfman – Patent, Vice Chair
Meunier Carlin & Curfman
ccurfman@mcciplaw.com
Michael Hobbs — Trademark, Chair
Troutman Sanders LLP
michael.hobbs@troutmansanders.com
Auma Reggy — Trademark, Vice Chair
McKesson
aumareggy@mckesson.com
Rivka Monheit – Community Outreach, Chair
Pabst Patent Group LLP
rivka@pabstpatent.com
Rich Miller – Community Outreach, Vice Chair
Ballard Spahr LLP
millerrw@ballardspahr.com
Chris Glass — Communications, Chair
Troutman Sanders LLP
chris.glass@troutmansanders.com
Alan White — Communications, Vice Chair
Finnegan
alanwhite@finnegan.com

Click here for a list of Section Chairs 1964-2014