The Intellectual Property Section of the Georgia Bar was founded in 1964 to provide information about intellectual property law to its members and to the community. Today the Section continues those goals and now boasts over 1000 members. The Section’s educational events, which are open to Section members as well as non-members, provide timely legal updates regarding copyright, patents, trademarks, and intellectual property licensing and litigation. The Section also provides newsletters, networking opportunities, and podcasts of educational materials. The Intellectual Property Section is considered one of the most active sections of the Georgia Bar. The State Bar has recognized the Intellectual Property Section as Section of the Year for 2012-2013, 2013-2014, and three other times in the past (2003; 2006, jointly with Family Law Section). The Section has also received three Achievement Awards (2002; 2004; and 2007).

Section By-laws

 

Section Officers 2017-2018

Jim Johnson – Chair
Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP
jamesjohnson@eversheds-sutherland.com
Virginia Carron – Chair-Elect
Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP
virginia.carron@finnegan.com
Rivka Monheit  – Vice Chair
Pabst Patent Group LLP
rivka@pabstpatent.com
Rich Miller – Secretary
Ballard Spahr LLP
millerrw@ballardspahr.com
Chris Curfman – Treasurer
Meunier Carlin & Curfman
ccurfman@mcciplaw.com
Derrick Stanley – Section Liaison
State Bar of Georgia
derricks@gabar.org

Section Committees 2017-2018

Katie Bates – Copyright, Chair
Meunier Carlin & Curfman
kbates@mcciplaw.com
Pete Duitsman – Copyright, Vice Chair
Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.
peter.duitsman@turner.com
Chris Lightner – Patent, Chair
Alston & Bird
chris.lightner@alston.com
Andrew Strickland – Patent, Vice Chair
Lee & Hayes

Michael Hobbs — Trademark, Chair
Troutman Sanders LLP
michael.hobbs@troutmansanders.com
Auma Reggy — Trademark, Vice Chair
McKesson
aumareggy@mckesson.com
Clark Wilson – Community Outreach, Chair
Merchant & Gould
Matthew Goings – Community Outreach, Vice Chair
Goings Legal, LLC
Jeff Kuester, — Trade Secrets, Chair
Taylor English
David Pardue — Trade Secrets, Vice Chair
Owen, Gleaton, Egan, Jones & Sweeney
Alan White — Communications, Chair
Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP
alanwhite@finnegan.com
David Gann — Communications, Vice Chair
Alston & Bird
Matthew Smith – In-House Liaison
Innovolt, Inc.
matt.smith@innovolt.com

 

Click here for a list of Section Chairs 1964-2014