The Intellectual Property Section of the Georgia Bar was founded in 1964 to provide information about intellectual property law to its members and to the community. Today the Section continues those goals and now boasts over 1000 members. The Section’s educational events, which are open to Section members as well as non-members, provide timely legal updates regarding copyright, patents, trademarks, and intellectual property licensing and litigation. The Section also provides newsletters, networking opportunities, and podcasts of educational materials. The Intellectual Property Section is considered one of the most active sections of the Georgia Bar. The State Bar has recognized the Intellectual Property Section as Section of the Year for 2012-2013, 2013-2014, and three other times in the past (2003; 2006, jointly with Family Law Section). The Section has also received three Achievement Awards (2002; 2004; and 2007).
Section By-laws

A Special Thanks to the 2020 IP Section Sponsors:

Finnegan Henderson Farabow Garrett & Dunner, LLP

Ballard Spahr, LLP

Alston & Bird, LLP | Fish & Richardson PC | King & Spalding LLP

Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health | Coresearch | Dority & Manning PA | Hill Kertscher & Wharton LLP | Kent & Risley LLC | Lee & Hayes, PC | Meunier Carlin & Curfman, LLC | Murgitroyd | Pabst Patent Group LLP | Parker Hudson Rainer & Dobbs, LLP | Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein, LLP | Taylor English Duma, LLP

Become an IP Section 2021 Sponsor! Click here for details on annual sponsorship levels and benefits.

Section Officers 2020-2021

Rich Miller – Chair
Ballard Spahr LLP
Chris Curfman – Chair-Elect
Meunier Carline & Curfman
Clark Wilson — Vice Chair
NeoMed Inc
Chris Lightner — Secretary
Alston & Bird
Katie Bates — Treasurer
Meunier Carline & Curfman
Mary Jo Sullivan — Sections Director
State Bar of Georgia

Section Committees 2020-2021

Liz Wheeler — Copyright, Co-Chair
Rachel Geist — Copyright, Co-Chair
Chick-fil-A, Inc.
Andrew Strickland — Patent, Chair
Lee & Hayes
Josh Curry — Patent, Vice Chair
Lewis Brisbois
Auma Reggy — Trademark, Chair
Jason Rosenberg — Trademark, Vice Chair
Alston & Bird
Matthew P. Warenzak — Community Outreach, Chair
Smith, Gambrell & Russell, LLP
Michael Cicero — Trade Secrets, Chair
Taylor English Duma LLP
Neal Weinrich — Trade Secrets, Vice Chair
Berman Fink Van Horn PC
Kaitlyn Haase — Communications, Chair
Ernst & Young LLP
Alison Danaceau — In-House, Chair
Joe Staley — In-House, Vice Chair
Lingomod |
Jason Cooper – Young Lawyers Division, Co-Chair
The Sladkus Law Group
Amy Lester-Drew –Young Lawyers Division, Co- Chair
The Sladkus Law Group


Click here for a list of Section Chairs 1964-2014

See the podcasts below for an introduction to IP law: