The Intellectual Property Section of the Georgia Bar was founded in 1964 to provide information about intellectual property law to its members and to the community. Today the Section continues those goals and now boasts over 1000 members. The Section’s educational events, which are open to Section members as well as non-members, provide timely legal updates regarding copyright, patents, trademarks, and intellectual property licensing and litigation. The Section also provides newsletters, networking opportunities, and podcasts of educational materials. The Intellectual Property Section is considered one of the most active sections of the Georgia Bar. The State Bar has recognized the Intellectual Property Section as Section of the Year for 2012-2013 and three other times in the past (2003; 2006, jointly with Family Law Section). The Section has also received three Achievement Awards (2002; 2004; and 2007).

Section By-laws

 

Section Officers 2013-2014

Tina Williams McKeon – Chair
Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP
tmckeon@kilpatricktownsend.com
Brad Groff — Chair-Elect
Gardner Groff Greenwald & Villanueva, PC
bgroff@gardnergroff.com
George D. Medlock, Jr. — Vice Chair
Alston & Bird LLP
george.medlock@alston.com
Lauren Fernandez — Secretary
FOCUS Brands
lfernandez@focusbrands.com
Brent Bellows — Treasurer
Knowles Intellectual Property Strategies LLC
bbellows@kipsllc.com

Section Committees 2013-2014

Andrew Pequignot – Copyright Chair
Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP
apequignot@kilpatricktownsend.com
David Lilenfeld — Litigation Co-Chair
Lilenfeld PC
david@lilenfeldpc.com
Jonathan Ollinger — Litigation Co-Chair
Kilpatrick Townsend & Townsend LLP
jollinger@kilpatricktownsend.com
Rich Miller — Patent Co-Chair
Ballard Spahr LLP
millerrw@ballardspahr.com
Arvind Reddy — Patent Co-Chair
Thomas Horstemeyer, LLP
arvind.reddy@thomashorstemeyer.com
Alison Danaceau — Trademark Chair
Bodker, Ramsey, Andrews, Winograd & Wildstein, PC
adanaceau@brawwlaw.com
Matt Smith — In-House/Licensing Co-Chair
Innovolt, Inc.
matthew.smith@innovolt.com
Joe Staley — In-House/Licensing Co-Chair
Kids II, Inc.
joe.staley@kidsii.com
Alan White — Newsletter Chair
Kasowitz Benson Torres & Friedman LLP
awhite@kasowitz.com
Rivka Montheit — Philanthropy and Outreach Co-Chair
Pabst Patent Group LLC
rivka@pabstpatentgroup.com
James Johnson — Philanthropy and Outreach Co-Chair
Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP
james.johnson@sutherland.com
Suzanne Werner — Networking Chair
Alston & Bird LLP
suzanne.werner@alston.com
Chris Glass — Website and Podcasting Chair
Troutman Sanders LLP
chris.glass@troutmansanders.com
Laura Ashby — YLD Chair
Miller & Martin PLLC
lashby@millermartin.com

IP_Section_Group

From L-R: (standing) Jonathan Ollinger, Laura Ashby, Joe Staley, Arvind Reddy, Chris Glass, Jim Johnson, Rich Miller, Matt Smith, Suzanne Werner, David Lilenfeld; (seated) Alan White, George Medlock, Tina McKeon, Rivka Monheit

Click here for a list of Section Chairs 1964-2013