The Intellectual Property Section of the Georgia Bar was founded in 1964 to provide information about intellectual property law to its members and to the community. Today the Section continues those goals and now boasts over 1000 members. The Section’s educational events, which are open to Section members as well as non-members, provide timely legal updates regarding copyright, patents, trademarks, and intellectual property licensing and litigation. The Section also provides newsletters, networking opportunities, and podcasts of educational materials. The Intellectual Property Section is considered one of the most active sections of the Georgia Bar. The State Bar has recognized the Intellectual Property Section as Section of the Year for 2012-2013, 2013-2014, and three other times in the past (2003; 2006, jointly with Family Law Section). The Section has also received three Achievement Awards (2002; 2004; and 2007).

Section By-laws

 

Become an IP Section 2019 Annual Sponsor!  For details on annual sponsorship levels and benefits, see: http://sbog.informz.net/sbog/data/images/IP sponsorship_2019.pdf

 

Section Officers 2019-2020

Rivka Monheit — Chair
Pabst Patent Group LLP
rivka@pabstpatent.com
Rich Miller — Chair-Elect
Ballard Spahr LLP
millerrw@ballardspahr.com
Chris Curfman — Vice Chair
Meunier Carline & Curfman
ccurfman@mcciplaw.com
Clark Wilson — Secretary
NeoMed Inc
cwilson@neomedinc.com
Chris Lightner — Treasurer
Alston & Bird
chris.lightner@alston.com
Mary Jo Sullivan — Sections Director
State Bar of Georgia
maryjos@gabar.org

Section Committees 2019-2020

Katie Bates — Copyright, Chair
Meunier Carlin & Curfman
kbates@mcciplaw.com
Pete Duitsman — Copyright, Vice Chair
Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.
peter.duitsman@turner.com
Andrew Strickland — Patent, Chair
Lee & Hayes
andrew.strickland@leehayes.com
Josh Curry — Patent, Vice Chair
Lewis Brisbois
josh.curry@lewisbrisbois.com
Auma Reggy — Trademark, Chair
McKesson
auma.reggy@mckesson.com
Jason Rosenberg — Trademark, Vice Chair
Alston & Bird
jason.rosenberg@alston.com
Matthew Goings — Community Outreach, Chair
Goings Legal, LLC
matthewgoingsesq@gmail.com
Matthew P. Warenzak — Community Outreach, Vice Chair
Smith, Gambrell & Russell, LLP
mwarenzak@sgrlaw.com
David Pardue — Trade Secrets, Chair
Owen, Gleaton, Egan, Jones & Sweeney
dpardue@owengleaton.com
Michael Cicero — Trade Secrets, Vice Chair
Taylor English Duma LLP
mcicero@taylorenglish.com
Chittam Thakore — Communications, Chair
Ballard Spahr LLP
cthakore@gmail.com
Kaitlyn Hasse — Communications, Vice Chair
Troutman Sanders
Kaitlyn.hasse@troutman.com
Matthew Smith — In-House, Chair
Kids II
matthew.smith@kidsii.com
Joe Staley — In-House, Vice Chair
Lingomod | Recorders.com
joestaley@gmail.com
Jason Cooper – Young Lawyers Division, Co-Chair
The Sladkus Law Group
jason@sladlaw.com
Amy Lester-Drew –Young Lawyers Division, Co- Chair
The Sladkus Law Group
alester-drew@sladlaw.com

 

Click here for a list of Section Chairs 1964-2014